Bethany (2017)

( Let me know if you liked my review or not…first time doing one for the site. )

Year Released:  2017

Director’s Name:  James Cullen Bressack

Names of Lead Actors:  Stefanie Estes, Zack Ward, Tom Green

Genre(s):  Horror

Movie Description:  Claire and her husband find themselves moving back into Claire’s childhood home only to have the abusive and traumatic memories of her mother come back to haunt her. As her husband starts to get more work, Claire finds herself mixed up in a fog of past and present with a mysterious figure haunting her memories. What is this small figure that is trying to reach out to her, and what does it want?  

My thoughts before I fully got into the movie: Why don’t people understand that you aren’t supposed to move into a creepy old house. Have we not learned from our past Horror Movie ancestors? I know how this will go (or so I thought..).

After finishing the movie I have this to say…..

 

What did I love about the film?

How supportive as hell the husband (Erin) was towards Claire on the whole crazy situation. It did seem at times he wanted to throw in the towel but he didn’t.

Most husbands in horror movies shun or treat their wives harshly when they lose their minds. Or make them into zombies with drugs.

The close up scenes on the cups & bowls they were using. I know this may seem odd, but it was a good angle. Even when they used the “fish eye” lens, (yes I know my stuff) it made the scenes seem cool.

You got the feeling it was going to be a classic horror film. It had the style for it from start to finish.

I loved it when Erin would open the doors in the house like he was the killer. Even the stance he gave off made it seem as though he would run up behind his wife and choke her.

 

What I disliked about the movie?

The wife..she was a tad annoying to me.

The room Claire use to stay in as a child. Reminded me of a weird doll set you would find at a toy store..

Slow…slow at getting to it, but I know some things needed to be fleshed out.

 

My overall rating for the film: 3 & 1/2 Stars; I feel as though it wasn’t scary at all, but more of a psychological route to me. Wouldn’t mind re-watching it. But I don’t know about suggesting it to others though….

 

Source of where I got the image and description of the film: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt4516352/
Leave a Reply

