Ashley Gerasimovich: A Young Talent On The Rise

AshleyG_0397.jpg
Ashley Gerasimovich

Ashley stars as “Delilah Parker” on the hit TBS family series The Detour. Currently in Season 2 which started on 21 Feb 2017, Nate [Jason Jones] receives a promising job opportunity and the family moves to New York for a fresh start, everyone is excited but Robin [Natalie Zea], who knows that a move to the big city means her mysterious past may catch up with her. While Nate and Robin adjust to new jobs, new neighbors and old flames, fraternal twins Jared and Delilah dive headfirst into the awkwardness of adolescence. Despite questionable parenting and terrible decisions, the love the Parkers have for each other will keep the family intact as they endure another disastrous adventure.

The multifaceted actress has worked with a number of the industry’s biggest stars in a variety of challenging roles. At the age of five, she co-starred with Naomi Watts and Sean Penn in Summit Entertainment’s drama, Fair Game. Soon after wrapping that, she went on to play Tilda Swinton and John C. Reilly’s daughter “Celia” in the thriller We Need to Talk About Kevin with Ezra Miller.

On the small screen, Louie viewers may recognize Ashley as Louis C.K.’s youngest daughter “Jane” on the FX series. Other credits include NBC’s 30 Rock, CBS’s Blue Bloods and Deadbeat for Hulu. Next up, she stars in the independent film A Different Sun.


The detour rocked last season, I will never forget the last part, being the way you man-handled the guy. Did you need to learn that trick? Was it real or faking it?

I actually learned that move a couple of days in advance, so I wouldn’t hurt him. It was still fun, and when I watched it on screen, I agree that it did look very real!

Patience is one of the few virtues that is rare. How was it waiting to know if The Detour was renewed? 

To be honest, I had a really good feeling about the renewal. I sometimes thought if I clicked random buttons on my remote control then a message would pop up on the TV saying “Congratulations!! The Detour has been picked up to Season 3!!”

When it got renewed what came into your mind first? And how did you celebrate it?

My mom and I learned about the renewal two weeks in advance, and I had to keep it a secret. The first thing that came to my head though was to climb on to my roof and scream it as loud as I could to my entire neighborhood. It took every ounce of self-control to say that I didn’t know every time someone asked. 

This season has gotten a bit more adult-ish. With the theme being mainly about relationships, loyalty and to some extent intimacy. What is the overall message being given throughout this season?

I think Nate said it best when he said, “It’s not about doing the right thing, it’s about surviving the wrong thing.” I think the overall message would be that life has ups and downs, and when your life is at a low, stick with people you love and it will all work out.

Image result for the detour season 2
Ashley currently plays “Delilah Parker” on The Detour.

With some mature content for children, how is filming done? Do you watch the whole episode together with the cast?

When I’m not in a scene, usually I don’t even show up on set (which is probably a good thing). When I am in a mature scene, mom and I have some… frank talks.

Much like last season, your on screen brother still remains a bit “special” in a way of speaking. How is your relationship with Liam on and off the set?

Even though Liam is relatively new to the business, I think he is doing a great job as Jareb. Since he is the only other kid on set most of the time we get to hang out a lot on and off set. We’re almost like real siblings!

The best memories happen during filming. Would you agree or disgaree? And any experiences you could share?

I would agree. Filming, especially The Detour, has been so fun and there are so many awesome people to meet! A funny story is in the episode “The Tournament”, when we were presenting our weapons, the original line for the old Jared was “nine ringed broad sword,” but he accidentally messed up and said “nine ringed sword sword”. I could barely contain myself and that was kept as the line you heard when the episode aired.

Image result for the detour season 2 cast
A dysfunctional family. [left: Ashley Gerasimovich, Natalie Zea, Jason Jones, Liam Caroll]

How much of the episode gets improvised in the sense, going out of script. What effect does it have on the show?

In an episode, you’re allowed to improv as much as you want if you think it will make the scene better. I think it makes the scene more natural, and really gives a sense of bonding of the family. I also really enjoy improvisation and being able to make up what your character can say.

The one element that differentiates The Detour is it’s plot. Comedies usually don’t have a story behind it. What else do you think makes the show unique?

I think the family makes the show unique as well. Even though they are highly dysfunctional, they have a strong bond that no matter what happens won’t break ever.

What should we be seeing in the coming episodes?

My guess is just as good as yours! I have no idea what is going to happen in season 3, but I’m sure it will be hysterical!

Which episode is your favourite of this season?

I love all of them, but my personal favorite is “The Tournament”. I like this episode because there was a bit of drama in this episode, which was a nice change of pace. I also got to show off my sweet Tae Kwon Do moves!!

What do you plan on doing in the future? Continue in this career path or diversify?

I will definitely stay on the acting path, but maybe do something else while I’m not working on a show or a movie. For example, I’m pretty interested in science, so maybe I can get into chemistry when I’m older!

How old are you? What grade are you in? And how do you balance it?

I am currently in 7th grade and I am 13 years old. Usually, I have a tutor on set and I get my work from my school.

What are the challenges a young actor or actress faces?

Even though I get my work from school, I have to play catch up a bit when I’m out of school for a couple of months. I eventually do catch up and being able to film is worth it!

What are the perks of being a young actor or actress?

When I’m filming, I have the best time!! I make so many good friends, and I’m doing what I love, which makes the experience ten times better!

What would you say has been your motto so far?

My motto is, “Follow your dreams!” This means that you should do whatever you want to, and you can if you work hard enough. So, go out and do what you love! I promise you your hard work will be worth it!


The Detour airs Tuesday at 10/9c on TBS.


Photo Credit: Michael Creagh

Leave a Reply

